Undergraduate Advising

The Computer Science Department has a three-tiered approach to advising: the Office of Undergraduate Programs, faculty mentors, and peer advisors. Below is a breakdown of what you should and should not expect from each source of advising.

Andrew Torrey

Office Support Specialist

Elizabeth Gonzalez

Senior Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Professor Margaret Fleck

Director of Undergraduate Programs

Steve Herzog

Assistant Director of Undergraduate Programs

Katrina Jones

Senior Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Heather Mihaly

Undergraduate Office Manager

Heather Zike

Undergraduate Program Coordinator & Academic Advisor

Fabian A. Zermeno Yerenas

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Jenn Rose

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Jacob Deters

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Shay Reid

Office Support Associate

Professor Eric Shaffer

Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs

In general, we are available to help students navigate their degree requirements and the policies of their department, their college, and the university as a whole.

We are here to answer your academic questions. Drop by, call or email.

    Faculty Mentors

    All students are assigned a faculty mentor, a professor with whom they must meet at least once each academic year, typically before April. The department enforces this requirement with a registration hold. You can find your faculty mentor and schedule appointments with him or her on my.cs.illinois.edu.

    In addition to meeting with your faculty mentor, you should feel free to meet with other faculty, such as those with whom you've had classes you've enjoyed, or those from a research area that is of interest to you. You can arrange a meeting, or stop by during office hours. On the CS website, you can find a list of CS faculty members – arranged alphabetically or by research specialty – with links to each faculty member's website and contact info.